Who made superstitions????


I am a Hindu. A Brahmin that too. I have equal belief in all the one thousand Gods we follow and worship. As i mentioned in my previous post, I pray to Christ, Allah and Gurunanak Sahib too.

I am not sure which one of the religions or cultures gave birth to superstitions. I ardently disbelieve any sort of superstitions.

The most recent one I heard and objected upon : Do not go to loo when temple bells are ringing.

So I asked, what if someone is already in the loo, does he/she have to hold it? Or come out running cuz the bells are ringing?

And what if someone is ill, say has loose motions or weak bladder, what does that person do?

And what about kids, obviously they cannot control the pressure for 15 minutes of aarti time.

And infants? Theyย don’tย even know what is God and aarti and excretion and bladder. They are exempted of this rule of not-going-to-loo-when-temple-bells-ring?

superstitions

That’s not it.

I was told another one- Do not sleep during aarti time.

So does that mean specifically evening or morning aarti time too?

But what about the person who is already asleep? Is he supposed to wake up in respect of some everyday prayers being offered to one of our million Gods?

Oh and what about people who work in shifts, who have to work in night time and sleep during day? God gets upset with them? Oh is that why they’re suffering in night shifts and have to work while the entire world sleeps. And here I thought it was their own career decision to work in such factories and plants and companies. ๐Ÿ˜

Oh, andย don’tย get me started on kids and babies and infants and old and sick people or hospitalized people or people under medication or coma.

Really, not sleeping when temple bells ringing so important? My my.

superstitions1

But by far, the most ridiculous superstition is not to wash hair on Thursdays and not to cut nails on Saturdays. And I questionย – exactly WHY?

Do we have a scientific explanation as to why I should think about a super-power being angry over my personal hygiene? C’mon think about the people who bite and chew their nails everyday. They must be upsetting God. And priests who take a dip in rivers or lakes every morning, thus wetting themselves completely (including hair), must be not THAT faithful to Almighty. Otherwise why would they do such a thing.

Attention people. This is the 21st century. Agreed its good to keep faith in a certain super-power, to have belief in karma and doing the right thing. But doing things based on superstitions and hear-say things is foolishness.

Trust me, if you cross a road after a black cat crosses your way – you will not meet with an accident as long as you keep your eyes on the road.

superstitions2

169 thoughts on “Who made superstitions????

  1. You’re spot on…well put! I was raised with so many superstitions, which take hold like the truth and can take decades to unravel, so I appreciate your comments. Thank you too for viewing my blog.

  2. wow… i’ve never heard of any of those… but superstition came about way long ago before people knew how to explain the happenings of the world… or why things came to be… someone did something and something bad happen so it must’ve been because of what they were doing… and some come from other peoples beliefs and faith… but i always thought superstitions were cool… it’s like a fairy tale… always wondering how did they come about…

  3. As a devout and devoted atheist (I’ll have to define that term in a later post, and shallโ€”for now it’s the best word but I still don’t like it) I see religions as superstitions anyway. Sometimes they have good moral guidance (“Love thy neighbour” for example) and other times blatant contradictions (“Take up thy sword and kill for Gentle Jesus and/or compassionate merciful Allah”).

    So I give away all such superstitions and simply try to live a good life, as honestly as I can. If I had to invoke any religion at all I’d choose this Creed from Wicca:

    “An if it harm none, do as thou wilt” (where “an” is olde English for “if”).

    Harm none โ€” I like that …

  4. Superstition is not the result of religion (some might argue it’s the other way around!). Our leaky human brains work on pattern analysis – we see a pattern, and we subconsciously reason that A causes B. Unfortunately, we can’t tell the difference this way between correlation and causation – so if your favourite sports team win three times when you’re wearing your underwear backwards, you subconsciously detect a pattern. These patterns can become entrenched with confirmation bias, peer support (“hey! that happens to me too!”) and wishful thinking (superstitions are never neutral – they always involve increasing good luck or reducing/avoiding bad luck).

    • Very well said. Most superstitions have come to be because people saw a pattern in a series of specific events, and a number of them are exceptionally stupid. I disagree with those that feel ALL religions are based on superstition. Some might be, since I don’t know all the religions in the world. However, I do not doubt my God, my Father in heaven, and know that He is real.

  5. This was probably a bad post for me to read. There is only one God, and He is very much real and alive. He is not something carved out of wood by human hands or formed from plastic by a machine. Superstitions are nothing more than silly ideas that people got into their heads because events happened in a pattern. I’m sure most of the superstitions have evolved over time, and are nothing like they originally started out.
    Any religion that gives specific orders about doing, or not doing things, at specific times, I would have to question their validity, like you pointed out in your article
    All that aside, your article was well written, and presented valid arguments.

  6. Post made me smile;)

    I hold a ‘just in case’ attitude towards ‘superstition’. You know, the black cat, I won’t go ‘stupid superstition does not exist’. Nope the cat just slightly increases my attention, ‘just in case’ fate is around the corner … the cat, you see, might be sent by God, I wouldn’t know. So therefor the ‘just in case’ … lol:)

  7. I quite enjoyed this one! I had an instinctive aversion and resistance to superstitions since I was a young child… I really felt pity for the elderlies but anger as well as if they were contaminating Life with their fear, because that’s what mostly superstitions are based on.

  8. Thanks for liking my blog, Sakshivashist. Regarding superstitions, there are some you mention that are quite interesting. I can’t imagine having to keep them all straight to get through a day!

  9. Hahaha! You got it. I am married to a family who has lots of superstitions too. Good thing my husband doesn’t believe any of it so we get along just fine. By the way, thanks for liking my post about Chinese Tiger Nets. I’m new here, I’m still learning the widgets. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Superstitions are public beliefs that someone decided would be good for us to know!
    Beliefs that affect us more are those installed at childhood often by those close to us, such as ‘butterfingers’, ‘you’ll never amount to much’, ‘bit of puppy fat there hey!’
    Only later on in life can we choose which beliefs to lead the course of our life, or we can choose to switch them off. They are often the fears of others drummed into you.
    try dropping their fears and living life the best way you can.

    • Truly said, but not many have the freedom or option of dropping certain beliefs and moving on. Many families consider them as rituals and shoving them would be disrespectful..

  11. I like this post. We should not try too much to demystify our personal religions less we be successful and take the fun out of them. To work, religion must scratch our metaphysical itches. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Great post and I love the first quote box. Honestly, I was steeped in superstitions and it’s taken decades to unravel them since they were taught as if they were physics. Thank you for the post as well as liking my blog.

    • Physics is way more logical than superstitions.. Both have totally different reasonings.. And being an engineer, I can tolerate physics but not superstitions ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. A very good post! Superstitions are interesting as they provide an insight into the belief system and fears of different cultures/religions. In their essence, of course, they’re all hilarious!

  14. As they say: it is a short leap from believing that doing something will bring you good luck to believing that NOT doing it will bring bad luck.

  15. Loved this article. It seems to me that religions of all kinds are mostly superstitions, but who am I to say. Incidentally, thank you for stopping by Paper, Mud and Me and l’m glad you liked “A Swinging Place.” I’ll be following you to read more of your material. I also liked “When It Snows In India.”

  16. Pingback: Superstition, expression and the meaning of words | Rosalie Squires

  17. Hi sakshivashist,

    Thanks for liking my poem “Open Heart”. I follow the philosophy of Budhhism, but not the religion. One of Buddhist beliefs is, don’t believe anything without questioning. That seems to fit in with what you have been saying about superstitions. I Iike the way you have expressed your thoughts on this. I will be following your blog.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

  18. A very good post. It seems each generation builds on superstitions of the past to create new ones. And not necessarily ones that make any more sense. I happen to love black cats and feel blessed when they cross my path. Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. I am glad it lead me to yours!

  19. I agree with all of the above (well, mostly). I find it difficult to distinguish between beliefs in superstition and religions, one being more firmly held than the other, but both based on the limitations of our brains. As someone above said; follow the beliefs, not the religions. Thanks for the excellent post.

  20. Great post, love the quotes, I feel that since you can create your own reality and experience, superstition is very limiting. If you believe in Voodoo, you are vulnerable to voodoo! Who do the voodoo? you do!

Leave a Reply

