I love Sidney Sheldon


sidney sheldon

Sidney Sheldon (SS). I love him. I absolutely do. He is the only author, whose ALL novels I have read. He published them in this order.

The Naked Face (1970)
The Other Side of Midnight (1973)
A Stranger in the Mirror (1976)
Bloodline (1977)
Rage of Angels (1980)
Master of the Game (1982)
If Tomorrow Comes (1985)
Windmills of the Gods (1987)
The Sands of Time (1988)
Memories of Midnight (1990)
The Doomsday Conspiracy (1991)
The Stars Shine Down (1992)
Nothing Lasts Forever (1994)
Morning, Noon and Night (1995)
The Best Laid Plans (1997)
Tell Me Your Dreams (1998)
The Sky Is Falling (2001)
Are You Afraid of the Dark? (2004)

I read them considering how I could beg-borrow-buy. I don’t remember exactly when I read my first SS novel but I remember first one was Master of the Game

Sidney Sheldon Books 1

I have met many people who say SS novels are for kids and they lack a certain taste which epics or classic fictions have. I believe- To each its own. If people can appreciate Harry Potter series, Twilight Series and 50 Shades of Grey series, C’mon SS series was good enough too. 

The story build up, the plot, the characterization, the minute description of each and every turn on the road and peck on the cheek in fact elates the quality of his novels. It keeps you hooked on to the book till you know what is going to happen Agreed, sometimes it becomes predictable, but hey! you can’t  judge him for that. All authors become predictable if they write many many many novels. (Dan Brown is an exception I feel).

Sidney Sheldon Books

So as a tribute to one of my all-time-favorite authors, I write this post and shamelessly fearlessly say that I can read his books over and over again. For people who act as book critics and yet secretly are charmed by Christian Grey or Edward Cullen, you just CANNOT judge me!!!!

54 thoughts on “I love Sidney Sheldon

  1. Well, I feel the only story where Sidney Sheldon was actually unabashedly imaginative was “I dream of Jeanie”….. 🙂 did u know this show was written by him??? Rest somehow doesn’t rock my boat much (for the record neither does twilight or grey….. Ms Rowling is a different matter though … PERSONAL OPINION).mm

  2. “Morning, Noon and Night (1995)” and “Tell Me Your Dreams (1998)” two books of SS that i have read. but i love “Morning, Noon, and Night” the most :).

  3. He is my most liked author. His style of writing fascinated me. He won’t write a sentence more than with five or six words. His insights on human passion and greed are very deep. I too have read all his novels, each not less than 5 times. Every time you read, it will be fresh and you never get bored. I keep all his novels in my shelf. After reading Sheldon I never tried to read any other English novel except that of Tamil Novelist Rajesh Kumar. I think they are available on line, some English rendering of Rajesh Kumar too. He is at par with Sheldon.

  4. I share your opinion as I have also read all of them. Some I loved, some were ok but yes I liked them all. I still have some of the hard copies but all of them in e format. By the way, I loved ” I dream of Genie” too. I read 50 Shades part one and finished part two with some effort but ran out of patience for part three, though I have it in my iPad.

  5. Thanks for stopping by my post! By the way, I completely agree with you on ”If people can appreciate Harry Potter series, Twilight Series and 50 Shades of Grey series, C’mon SS series was good enough too.” 😀 By the way, I love SS, and I can’t stand Harry Potter!

  6. I agree! I’m a book junkie so I’ll read anything as long as the story captivates me. And I think that’s the best part, reading what you love.
    I’ve never read a SS book,but I’ll give it a whirl since you’re argument was so compelling 🙂

  7. The Other Side of Midnight was my first adult novel read when I snuck it off the lower shelf of my mother’s nightstand. It sat forgotten with Truman Capote’s, In Cold Blood and some strange self help book called “I’m Ok You’re Ok” the Sheldon book seemed to hold the most promise. This is so fun!

  8. My first adult novel read was The Other Side of Midnight. I chose it from the lower shelf of my mother’s nightstand. It was between Truman Capote’s “In Cold Blood” and some self-help book titled “I’m Ok, You’re Ok” I actually enjoyed Sheldon and this is a fun blog.

  9. my fav, the other side of midnight, and windmills of the gods was a good one too, he has a great style of writing. I can’t count how many of his I have read over the years… but my favorite author will always be Frank Herbert, the mans a genius in my book…lol

  10. Thanks for stopping by, and checking me out. I followed you back here and took a look around, and now I am a follower. Great posts. “If Tommorrow Never Comes” was my first Sydney Sheldon book. I was a teenager and immediately was hooked. I went on to read all of his books. He will always be one of my old favorites. You have some fabulous pics and it is inspiring me to get out my camera and maybe take some pictures of the tremendous writing weather I have around me, for my blog. The snow drifts are huge, the road slippery and icy, and last week with the windchiil it was -40 celcius.

      • Done!
        http://shannonraelynn.com/photos-of-winter-in-rural-canada/
        This was this morning, when I drove my daughter to the end of our driveway for the bus to pick her up and take her to school. I can’t wait for spring, but then life gets crazy busy. For now I enjoy cross country skiing with my three dogs, and my daughter. I also included a picture of my big German Shepard dog. If you have a hard time with puppies, I assume a full sized dog would not be an animal you are crazy about.

Leave a Reply

